17 Feb 2020

DawnKing by Janalyn Voigt: Final in Series Review

Tales of Faeraven #4
February 1st 2020, Harbourlight Books, 342 pages 
Print and Ebook

A prince marked for death, a princess without a kingdom, and a world at war.Unlikely travelers band together to accomplish the impossible—bring peace to their kingdom. But traitorous forces are at work, and a treacherous hand is destroying everything they accomplish.

Honor and soul-searching bring the travelers to hidden truth, and when a sacrifice is made, the broken-hearted band of misfits must cleanse the evil from their midst to free their world...or lose everything.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 

 The Tales of Faeraven series is finished: but what a finish! Its magnificent. There's plenty of action and family drama, but also some clever allegory and a wonderful redemptive story for one of the characters. Well, more than one actually, as the redemption theme underpins the story.
Even when everything appears lost, the Dawnking offers a promise of hope. He never forces himself on anyone, nor does he just do the easy thing but appears when the need is greatest. Yet the characters can still choose to reject his advice.

Dawnking is more of a story about journeys than the other books. The characters get separated and have to survive and protect those they love, as well as confronting their secrets, worst fears and past demons. The conclusion is satisfying and ties up the loose ends but too too easy, nor does it come over as contrived, as in some novels.

There were a couple of parts that were hard to follow, but maybe a re-read will remedy that :) Overall, it was just an excellent conclusion to the Fantasy series, which characters old and new, and some vague echoes of classics such as the Chronicles of Narnia.

The only complaint I had was a couple of references which kind of jarred me out of the Medieval style setting, and weren't in the previous books. Not sure why they were in this one but this did not detract from my enjoyment of the story.

I would recommend The Tales of Faeraven series to all fantasy and allegorical fantasy lovers. Although its not overly allegorical, there are some elements here. I would recommend starting at the beginning with the first novel Dawnsinger, though. Its been a long wait, but readers can now get hold of all 4 books to complete the story.

Thanks to the author for providing me with a PDF of this title. I was not part of the official Blog Tour and I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I like to hear from readers, so feel free to leave a comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...